The Honour Roll

In recent meetings, our teaching staff and administration have had the opportunity to discuss our schools mission and future direction. The conversation has had many topics and gone in many directions. Of these, there is one that has been constantly on my mind. It is the conversation we are having about Honour roll in our school.

I can understand and appreciate. the importance of staff feedback, especially with such a sensitive topic. Yet in some way I feel that we are currently asking the wrong question. I believe we should not be asking “what” should be on or included on Honour roll, but the “why” are we having an Honour roll? What is its purpose? Does Honour roll improve student learning?

I have thought of these questions many times this week. I had conversations with colleagues, both for and opposed to Honour roll. Yet no one had a definitive answer to these questions. So I decided to continue my search. What I came upon was a video shared to me by @joe_bower on his blog For the Love of Learning. It is a short (20 minute) webcast from author and lecturer Alphie Kohn. In it, Kohn describes the importance of student engagement in learning.

Here is the link to @joe_bowers’s blog post entitled “From a culture of performance to a culture of learning” I encourage you to give it a view.

Or, directly view the video of Alfie Kohn. ALFIE KOHN: From a “culture of performance” to a “culture of learning”

About cameronhall

I am committed to improving my own practice personally and professionally. I am an elementary school assistant principal and learning support teacher. I am also committed to helping others achieve their own personal goals in health and wellness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

