Will the doors open? I’m a little nervous…

I am going to try something new tomorrow, and it has me a little bit nervous.

In my last post, “Start Local, Think Global”, I stated how I desired to be more involved in professional communication with my colleagues within our building. In short, I have been trying to expand my PLN for some time, and have often turned to social media outlets to do so; yet I felt that I was missing a great resource, my school and the professionals within it.

I work in a fantastic, dynamic, and busy building. We are a middle school that offers shop, dance, hip-hop, rock and pop, guitar, choral, and a variety of other amazing options. Not to mention, excellent core programs. This is why I want to build my PLN locally.

This brings me to tomorrow…

Tomorrow morning there is an experienced substitute (she actually works part-time at our school) available during one of my instructional periods. I have asked this sub to cover my class, and for one reason only, so that I can get into someone else’s. I know there is a lot of excellent stuff going on, and I want to experience it!

So today, I sent out an email to my co-workers, offering my help, assistance, or observation into the workings of their class. So far, 5 responses!

Often teachers are very protective of their classrooms. I believe this is because they are worried about being “judged” or “evaluated”. I just want to experience! I’m interested to see how my offer is accepted.

I hope that this is something that I can continue to do in the future, and that it is taken as a compliment, and not as a threat. Hopefully, a few others may try the same. Maybe, just maybe, the doors will start to open.

About cameronhall

I am committed to improving my own practice personally and professionally. I am an elementary school assistant principal and learning support teacher. I am also committed to helping others achieve their own personal goals in health and wellness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

