Start local, think global

Over the last year, I have come to rely on my twitter feed and RSS feeds for teaching resources, activities, and ways to use tech in my classroom. As I have come across these resources, I have shared them with my colleagues on staff, many of whom have no idea what a tweet is, or what a PLN is. I am committed to continuing my search for good ideas, and for ways to change the “status quo” in my class; and hopefully, along the way I can inspire others to do the same.

Yet as I browse my twitter feed, or take part in #edchat discussions, I can’t help but think about the amount of knowledge that the 40 other teachers in my own building possess. Why don’t we share information in our school like we do on twitter or elsewhere online? I really don’t have an answer for this, and I am not even sure that there is one. In the midst of my excitement about building my PLN (primarily online), I have overlooked perhaps the most readily available information in my PLN, my colleagues!

Maybe this week I will spend less time on my iphone checking twitter, and more time walking around my building and in the classrooms of the excellent teachers I work with.

About cameronhall

I am committed to improving my own practice personally and professionally. I am an elementary school assistant principal and learning support teacher. I am also committed to helping others achieve their own personal goals in health and wellness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

